Bielefeld Graduate School in Theoretical Sciences
BGTS header picture 1
BGTS header picture 2

BGTS doctoral day

BGTS doctoral day 2019

The BGTS doctoral day 2019 will take place on October 25, 2019. Again there will be talks by doctoral students from the three participating faculties and a social event in the evening. Details will be announced later.

BGTS doctoral day 2018

The BGTS doctoral day 2018 will take place on October 19, 2018, from 12:00 to 18:00 in T2-205.
There will be talks by doctoral students from the three participating faculties.


Time Speaker Faculty Title
12:00 - 12:30 Severin Reissl Economics Monetary policy and prudential regulation in a hybrid AB-SFC model
with heterogeneous expectations
12:30 - 13:00 Christian Döding Mathematics Nonlinear stability and computation of traveling oscillating waves in parabolic PDEs
13:00 - 13:30 Felix Ziesché Physics Approaching the sign problem in lattice field theories with complex geometry
13:30 - 14:30 Lunch break
14:30 - 15:00 Mariya Mitkova Economics Professional careers, promotions and organizational hierarchies
in a frictional labour market
15:00 - 15:30 Sebastian Eckert Mathematics Approaching tame and wild structures using a quiver and some arrows
15:30 - 16:00 Patric Hölscher Physics Alternatives to general relativity
16:00 - 16:30 Coffee (in T2-227)
16:30 - 17:00 Jodi Dianetti Economics Stochastic games of monotone follower type: existence and approximation
of Nash equilibria
17:00 - 17:30 Chengcheng Ling Mathematics Non-explosion of solutions to SDEs with singular coefficients
17:30 - 18:00 Lars Künkel Physics Using artificial intelligence to detect pulsars

Evening program

After the talks we will have a cooking evening. The idea is to meet in the gallery Freiraum 237 (Herforder Str. 237) to cook, eat and have an enjoyable evening together.


For organizational reasons we ask you to register for the event in the following foodle survey:
Since space is limited in the kitchen, the number of participants for the cooking evening is limited to 40 participants.

Program committee

Marc Klegrewe, Dirk Kohlweyer, Peter Kuchling